2018 WCSA election results announced

By Gopika Nair, Editor-in-Chief

The Wesleyan Council on Student Affairs (WCSA) has elected its first female black student body president.

Senior Cara Harris will serve as the WCSA president in 2018 and sophomore Peyton Hardesty was elected vice president.

The 2017 WCSA elections yielded other firsts, as well.

Compared to last year’s 29 percent, this year, 46 percent of the Ohio Wesleyan student body voted, which was “the highest turnout in memory,” said senior Chris Dobeck, current president of WCSA.

Additionally, junior Will Ashburn is the first elected treasurer since Graham Littlehale ‘17, who served as the WCSA treasurer in 2015.

“The election was incredibly close,” Dobeck said. “Of all four presidential tickets, the highest voted candidate and the lowest voted candidate only had a 37 vote difference.”

The election took place on Friday, Nov. 10.

The complete list of results are as follows:


Cara Harris

Vice President

Peyton Hardesty


Mollie Marshall


Will Ashburn

Class of 2019 Representatives

Jackie Arnott

Megan Klick

Class of 2020 Representatives

Gretchen Weaver

Maxwell Aaronson

Class of 2021 Representative

Max Berry

Student Inclusion Advocacy Committee (SIAC) members

Cindy Hyunh

Ahmed Hamed

Mahnoor Ansari

Josselyne Ramirez

Benji Acuna

Daniela Black

Marisa Grillo

Spencer Zhang



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Prove you\'re not spam, please. Our editors are tired of reading really bad English. * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.